This is another case of a recruitment agent contacting me with a job offer. Here’s how it goes:
From: <totaljobsrecruiter@totaljobsmail.co.uk>
Date: Tue, 23 Aug 2011 17:00:06 +0100
To: <xxxxxx@gmail.com>
ReplyTo: <xxxx@frogconsultancy.com>
Subject: Frog Consultancy has found your profile on Totaljobs.com
Hi There,
I m recruiting for a Compliance Director position which might be of interest to you.
Are you still in the job market?
[signature]
My reply:
Good afternoon Xxxx,
Yes, I am currently available and keen to consider new opportunities.
Would you be able to send me a job description so I can have a look?
Many thanks and kind regards
He comes back with:
from Xxxx@celcius.co.uk <= Note: the domain has changed
to xxxx@gmail.com
date 24 August 2011 13:32
subject RE: Frog Consultancy has found your profile on Totaljobs.com
Hi Xxxx,
Please see below as requested.
Can you send me a copy of your cv, when able.
A job description follows, I have a look, nothing really related to what I do, however I reply:
Thanks Xxxx,
It looks interesting and aligned to my profile. Just two questions:
what salary do they offer and where is this position based?
Thanks
The recruiter disappears. Clearly, his objective here was collecting my CV and chances are that the job description that he sent is just a copy and paste from somewhere else. In fact I found that the same job is repeatedly advertised by various recruitment agents in the UK, none of which, I am sure, has a mandate or a contract with whomever is recruiting. Ultimately, it could be yet another bogus vacancy made up by someone who then has seen it copied all over the web and even if it was a genuine vacancy, what are the chances that your application will ever reach 1) the recruitment agent that is directly acting for the employer and 2) the employer itself?

